2020 Fairview Park Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Hall of Fame Induction of its Class of 2020 will be a virtual. See below for a video for each inductee.

The Fairview Park City Schools Hall of Fame was established to honor and publicly recognize distinguished alumni, athletes, and staff who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in areas such as citizenship, leadership, education, sportsmanship, the arts and sciences, the business world and professional fields. Such special recognition provides current students of the Fairview Park City Schools an opportunity to understand the value of their education and the possibilities to which it may lead. The Hall of Fame inductees can provide inspiration to a new generation of students through their example. 

Opening Remarks

Legacy Award

A Message from Douglas Ballash, member of the 1964 Swim Team


(newly established to honor a State Championship-Winning Team)

The 1964 State Championship Boys’ Swimming Team

First State Championship in FHS History

Nine State Qualifiers

Five High School All-Americans

 Dave Ballash (d), Doug Ballash, Ed Bettendorf, Bob Blankenburg, Stephen Broker, Don Davis, Jay Dickson, William Foote, Rod Fretthold (d), Tim Fretthold, Ross Frick, Greg Kappa, Jim Leffingwell, Jon Martin, Gary Mauks, Robert Mueller, Kirby Pilcher, Tom Proctor, John Russell (d), Jon Skeans (d), Tim Terek, Stuart Walters, David Williams, Jerry Young, Dick Segrist, Coach

Alumni Hall of Fame

A Message from Dennis Guenther

Dennis A. Guenther – Class of 1964

  • OSU Faculty Emeritus, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Outstanding Teaching in Engineering Award-OSU College of Engineering
  • Nationally recognized expert in accident reconstruction, vehicle dynamics, occupant kinematics/biomechanics & component testing/evaluations
  • Has authored over 200 technical publications

A Message from Kevin Nealer

Kevin Nealer – Class of 1972

  • Principal and partner in Scowcroft Group, an international business advisory firm
  • Trade & economic advisor to the United States Senate
  • Foreign Service Officer – United States State Department
  • Fulbright professor in China

A Message from Col. Thomas Knolmayer, M.D.

Col. Thomas Knolmayer, M.D., USAF – Class of 1986

  • Congressional appointment to United States Air Force Academy
  • 28 years of service – United States Air Force
  • Chief of Surgery, Third Medical Group, Elmendorf AFB, Alaska
  • 4 combat tours of duty in Afghanistan

A Message from Dr. Gary R. Skoog, Ph.D. 

Dr. Gary R. Skoog, Ph.D – Class of 1964

  • Founder & President of Legal Econometrics
  • Nationally recognized forensic economist
  • Assistant Economic Affairs Officer – United Nations Conference on Trade & Development
  • Chairman of the Committee on Computerization for the Society of American Baseball Research 1984 – 1990

Athletic Hall of Fame

A Message from Jim Grealis

Jim Grealis (1977 – 2006)

  • Boys Cross Country Head Coach
  • Wrestling Head & Assistant Coach
  • Coached 47 student athletes who earned All-SWC Conference recognition
  • Recipient of Ohio Association of Track & Cross Country Coaches Sportsmanship, Ethics & Integrity Award – 2003

A Message from Jennifer Kathe Kuharik

Jennifer Kathe Kuharik – Class of 1986

  • Captain of 1985 State AA Volleyball Championship Team, Team MVP
  • First Team – All Ohio
  • 3 – time District 1 Coach of the Year
  • 1999 Ohio District I Coach of the Year

A Message from Paul Kerrigan

Paul M. Kerrigan – Class of 1995

  • 9 Time Varsity Letter Winner (4 – Basketball / 3 – Football / 2 – Track)
  • All-Time FHS Basketball Rebound Leader (692 Rebounds)
  • #2 in Total Points for FHS Basketball (Record holder for 25 yrs – 1,622 Points)
  • Co-MVP SWC Basketball 1995
  • 3rd Team All-Ohio Basketball 1995
  • 1st Team All-SWC Basketball 1994 & 1995
  • 2nd Team All-SWC Basketball 1993
  • 3 Time FHS Basketball Team MVP
  • Top 10 All Time FHS Track in Long Jump & High Jump

Daniel Schmidt – Class of 1982

  • Football – Offensive Back of the Year
  • Plain Dealer Dream Team
  • All-SWC 1st Team Quarterback
  • Broke 25 year FHS High Jump Record

Faculty Hall of Fame

Jim Dow (d) (1966 – 1992)

  • Assistant Superintendent of the Fairview Park City Schools
  • Director of Communications
  • Curriculum Director
  • Public Relations Director

A Message from the Smith Family

Robert Smith (d)  (1956 – 1969) & FHS Class of 1948 

  • Established the Speech & Drama program at FHS & Thespian Troop #1004
  • Director of Drama & Stagecrafters
  • Anderson College Faculty (1969 – 1995)-Advisor to Speech/Drama

Education Students

  • Director of Anderson College Summer School

A Message from Kathy Ingersoll

Kathy Ingersoll  (1988 – 2013)

  • Frank Rudy Teacher of the Year, 2002
  • 2004 – 2007 English Department Chair
  • 2009 Business Advisory Teacher of the Year
  • Master Teacher, 2009

Closing Remarks