Teachers and Staff Recognized at End-of-Year Awards Ceremony

The Fairview Park City School District is pleased to share the following staff recognitions:

Mary Kurz, 2019 Employee of the Year, along with her family members and FPCS Superintendent Bill Wagner.

Mary Kurz, Employee of the Year

Mary’s nominators said, “She is the type of person who can connect with each and every student despite their interests, ability, and personality. She has a warm smile and encouraging words when students need them most.  She has the ability to make students feel as though they are the only person who matters when speaking to them. This individual’s nominator says that this person has been their right-hand person in class and there have been times that she’s not sure she could have made it through the day without them. Fairview High School would not be the same without her.” 

Sarah Eppler , 2019 Teacher of the Year, along with her family and FPCS Superintendent Bill Wagner.

Sarah Eppler, Teacher of the Year 

Sarah’s nominators said: “I have never known a teacher that loves their job as much as this individual. To her, every unexpected challenge is an opportunity to learn and grow. She is the type of educator that makes not only her students, but the staff that work with her strive every day, to be better than yesterday!  She is an absolute gift to her students, her colleagues, her friends, and her family.”  “She always reminds me of why I got into education and why I continue to love my job. She is always volunteering to do extra things in the building to support students, families and staff and is selfless in giving of her time to help anyone.”

Retiring this year are:

Keith Devine
Patricia Halligan
Sandra Vetrovsky


The following staff was recognized for milestone accomplishments in their years of service:


Zach Broschk

Karen Banks

Albana Beqiraj

Gregory Bucur

Cassie Cagle

Brent Fickel

Sarah Funk

Danielle Jankowski

Jordan McHugh

Julie Mistur

Caitlin Poole

Matt Ross

Robin Schaefer

Paige Smigelski

Kayla Spilker

Kim Sperling

Bridget Urban

Joannn Viccarone

MaryAnn Wolanin


Molly Blake

Craig Cohan

Linda Cook

Mary Cory

Rebecca Hicks

William Morrison

Colleen Nagy

Heather Reyna

Steven Ruic



Sandy Arancibia

Beth Haney

Jan Lockwood


Donald Britton

Gail Keitlen

Judy Matej



There are ten individuals who have 30 or more years of service with the Fairview Park City Schools, and we would like to recognize them today. Going forward we will recognize staff at their 30-year milestone.

Dennis Johnson – 30 Years

David LeBrun – 31 Years

Sandy Bennhoff – 31 Years

Mary Kurz – 32 Years

Nancy Holder – 33 Years

Denise Thomay – 33 Years

Mary Jane Williams – 33 Years

Rosemary Young – 33 Years

Sandra Vetrovsky – 34 years

Tom Roche – 34 years

Barbara Brady – 35 Years.


The Fairview Park Education Foundation was also pleased to announce spring 2019 teacher grants and recognize 2018 fall teacher grants.

• $1,143.00 awarded to Connie Obrycki, Mayer Middle School/Fairview High School to fund a 12 week adaptive theatre class for students with moderate to severe disabilities in coordination with the Beck Center for the Arts. The purpose of the class is to promote creativity, self-confidence, social interaction and positive self-esteem through singing, acting and dancing.

• Up to $3,000 to Librarian Gayle Dill and Mayer Middle School teachers, pending the awarding of other grant sources, to host Author Alan Gratz. In addition to reading Gratz novels this summer, all middle school students will engage in a number of cross-curricular activities to promote greater understanding and tolerance of diversity among students as well as promoting self-respect during the month of September. Students will personally connect with the author during his visit to Lewis F. Mayer Middle School in October.

• $1,022.40 to Kim Gefell, Fairview High School to purchase 2 TI Innovator Rovers, robotic cars programmed by graphing calculators, and the related equipment. Students will program and code the Rovers to put math in motion, adding physical dimension to verbal, symbolic and graphic representations. The Rovers provide a starting point, leading to more advanced coding, STEM and robotics projects.

• $564.00 to Sarah Eppler and Jill Davis, Gilles-Sweet Elementary School for the purchase of 18 Conflict Resolution Time Machine Mats to be utilized with students in grades K-1. The materials will further facilitate the Conscious Discipline program. The purpose of the program is to increase healthy relationships with peers and adults by learning conflict resolution skills and to address the social and emotional needs of student learners.

• $819.99 to Graham Codney, Gilles-Sweet Elementary School to purchase 6 Dash & Dot Robots, Learn to Code Challenge Cards and Curriculum Guide. Students in kindergarten and 1st grade will have the opportunity to explore and develop coding and programming skills with unique robots designed specifically for young learners. Dash & Dot Robots facilitate creativity, promote grit and perseverance, enhance problem solving and critical thinking skills, and improve collaboration with others.




Comments are closed.